What do P1 and P2 mean on GCSE Exam Results?

What do P1 and P2 mean on GCSE Exam Results? GCSE results are the important results of your life. It will help you to get into good universities, may be a factor in determining your A-levels, and maybe what your employers may look for. Thus it is important to get good grades in your GCSEs. Though in addition to that, it is also important for you to know what are the different terms including P1 and P2 in your result. This article will help you to learn about every term included in the result and will also help you to learn the old and new grading systems.

What do P1 and P2 mean on GCSE exam results?

P generally refers to the passing grade in your exams. There are two P grades in your GCSEs- P1 and P2. P1 grade means passing the exam at level 1 and P2 refers to passing the exam at level 2. These grades are usually used to measure your performance in BTEC or other functional skill courses. It may also involve a speaking test. The grading system for your exams usually occurs between grades 1-9.

What is the old grading system for GCSE?

In the old grading system, you get the grades according to alphabet order (A*-G). In this system, it was easy for you to score great in the exams. This system was changed because many people believe that this was not the system to measure the students properly. It allows them to get good grades without putting in much effort. 

Also Read :   A nylon rope used by mountaineers elongates 1.10 m under the weight of an 65.0-kg climber.

What is the current grading system of GCSE?

The current grading system is based on numbers 1-9. In this grading system, 9 is the highest grade and 1 is the lowest. This system was introduced for students who have a lot more potential than others. It will help you to understand your performance in the exams. Though many people believe that this system will make it difficult for students to score higher.  

For more such education-related articles, you may additionally confer with, Failing a class in college – What if you fail a class in college?

What grade is a P1?

As you already know what P1 is, now is the time to understand what is the grade for P1 according to the current grading system. P1 is the grade at which you passed level 1. The grades that you get for P1 are 4.5 according to the current grading system and roughly equal to grade F.

What grade is a P2?

P2 is the grade at which you passed level 2. The grades that you get for P2 are 4 according to the current grading system and roughly as grade C.

What are levels 1 and 2?

As you know P1 and P2 are the grades that you get in levels 1 and 2 respectively. But what are these levels? Level 1 is the lower quartile grade that you can achieve more easily than the level 2 grades. There are sometimes level three in GCSEs. These are tough subjects and are worth 1 GCSE. You will find the course curriculum equivalent to half of the A-levels. As they are almost half of the A-levels, you will be studying more complex concepts. When you take up level 3 subjects you will find positions like P3, M3, and D3. 

Also Read :   Predict whether the aqueous solution of the following compounds will be acidic, basic or neutral.?

What grades must students have to pass the exam?

To pass the exam you must have a grade of 4 in your GCSEs. Although this is the only passing grade for you. If you really want to get into good universities you must try to achieve at least a grade of 5. Getting passed by grade 5 means that you are strongly passed in the exam. 

What are three different qualifications in your GCSE?

There are three different qualifications that you get in your GCSEs-Pass, Merit and Distinction. Pass means that you have simply cleared your exams. Merit (M) means that you are getting above the passing grades. It is given to the students who have passed the grades with more marks than the passing marks. Merit is like appreciation for you if you have good marks.

Merit is generally given to you if you score between the 5-7 grades. Whereas the distinction is the highest position given to you for your GCSEs. This is given to you if you have scored equal to or higher than the 7 grade. It is the highest position that you get during your GCSEs. 

When are the P1 and P2 grades used in GCSEs?

P1 and P2 are the grades that are used for the more practical subjects. You may see such grades for the BTEC qualifications or GCSEs like applied science, media, engineering, etc. Although this might not be the case for every exam you take. As you may have got a merit or distinction position.

How to get good grades in GCSEs?

You must start by studying regularly. When you are studying regularly and completing your homework, you will get fewer loans to study in the future. Make a proper timetable including each and every topic for yourself. Follow your timetable properly. Do not forget to add breaks in between the timetable. When you are studying, stay away from various distractions.

Also Read :   Suppose you have a uniform electric field

Practice the past papers as much as you can. This will help you to know what type of questions will be there in the exam, and how you can clear the exam. If you are confused between some of the topics, always take the help of your friends or the teachers. Additionally, start revising for your GCSEs at least 1 month before your exams.


GCSEs are the main factor in determining your A-level subjects and also a factor for getting admission to the desired university. Thus it is important for you to get good grades in your GCSEs. Your GCSEs results are very important and therefore you must know the meaning of each term like P1, P2, D, M, etc on it. This article helps you in knowing the meaning of it and also helps you to understand different grading systems. 

Leave a Comment