are marshmallows made from horse hooves?

i was eating marshmallows the other day and my friend, who rides horses, grabbed them from me and said “DONT EAT THOSE THEYRE MADE OF HORSE HOOVES”

The main ingredient in marshmallows is gelatin which is an animal byproduct made of hooves, snouts, knuckles, cartilage and other slaughterhouse scraps. This is mostly from cows and pigs but horses can be used just as well.

No, marshmallows are made from sugar and corn syrup, although there is such a thing as a marshmallow tree- the inner bark from it is frequently used in herbal supplements which are fed to horses to prevent colic, ulcers,and other digestive problems. I’ve had experience with such supplements- I once worked for a farm where the owners fed them regularly to their horses. They really work well, but they are expensive. Still, supplements like that are an excellent alternative to constantly giving stabled horses drugs like Tagament and Gastroguard- and if one can afford the cost, then it’s a good idea to use them. Gelatin is normally made from the feet of calves which have been slaughtered to produce the meat we call veal. Sometimes, it is also rendered from pigs’ feet. I have never heard of a case in which horse hoof was used for making gelatin or any other product, with the possible exception of glue, which is very definitely made from hooves. Marshmallow bark is also used in HUMAN supplements, for the same reason that it’s fed to horses- it helps prevent digestive problems like colitis and irritable bowel syndrome. Marshmallow trees are tropical trees- they only grow in jungles or tropical rainforests. Like most such plants, they require large amounts of moisture and heat to grow well. The bark has a pleasant scent- it actually smells a lot like what you’d expect the marshmallows you toast in a campfire to smell like- a sort of pleasant vanilla scent. I hope this helps you out.

Sort of. Marshmallows contain gelatin which is made from the boiled bones and connective tissue of cows or pigs.

Gelatin is made from hooves you know Jello. Marshmallows are made mostly of sugar.

I hope not o___O I might throw up all the marshmallows I have eaten earlier in my life if its true!

Answer 6

NO!!! Your friend is messing around with you. Marshmallow are made of sugar, butter and some other stuff.

Answer 7

NO jello is made of horse hooves not marshmallows

Gelatin (spelled ‘gelatine’ in some Commonwealth countries from the French gélatine) is a translucent, colorless, brittle (when dry), nearly tasteless solid substance, derived from the collagen inside animals’ skin and bones. It is commonly used as a gelling agent in food, pharmaceuticals, photography, and cosmetic manufacturing. Substances containing gelatin or functioning in a similar way are called gelatinous. Gelatin is an irreversibly hydrolysed form of collagen, and is classified as a foodstuff, with E number E441. It is found in some gummy candies as well as other products such as marshmallows, gelatin dessert, and some low-fat yogurt. Household gelatin comes in the form of sheets, granules, or powder. Instant types can be added to the food as they are; others need to be soaked in water beforehand. Some dietary or religious customs forbid the use of gelatin from certain animal sources, and medical issues may limit or prevent its consumption by certain people.
Probably best known as a gelling agent in cooking, different types and grades of gelatin are used in a wide range of food and non-food products: Common examples of foods that contain gelatin are gelatin desserts, trifles, aspic, marshmallows, and confectioneries such as Peeps, gummy bears and jelly babies. Gelatin may be used as a stabilizer, thickener, or texturizer in foods such as jams, yoghurt, cream cheese, and margarine; it is used, as well, in fat-reduced foods to simulate the mouthfeel of fat and to create volume without adding calories.
Gelatin is used for the clarification of juices, such as apple juice, and of vinegar. Isinglass, from the swim bladders of fish, is still used as a fining agent for wine and beer.[2] Beside hartshorn jelly, from deer antlers (hence the name “hartshorn”), isinglass was one of the oldest sources of gelatin. Gelatine was used for hardening paper in Colonial times.
[edit] Technical uses
Capsules made of gelatin.Certain professional lighting equipment uses color gels to change the beam color. These used to be made with gelatin, hence the term color gel.
Gelatin typically constitutes the shells of pharmaceutical capsules in order to make them easier to swallow. Hypromellose is a vegan-acceptable alternative to gelatin, but is more expensive to produce.
Animal glues such as hide glue are essentially unrefined gelatin.
It is used to hold silver halide crystals in an emulsion in virtually all photographic films and photographic papers. Despite some efforts, no suitable substitutes with the stability and low cost of gelatin have been found.
Used as a carrier, coating or separating agent for other substances; for example, it makes beta-carotene water-soluble thus imparting a yellow colour to any soft drinks containing beta-carotene.
Gelatin is closely related to bone glue and is used as a binder in match heads and sandpaper.
Cosmetics may contain a non-gelling variant of gelatin under the name hydrolyzed collagen.
As a surface sizing, it smooths glossy printing papers or playing cards and maintains the wrinkles in crêpe paper.
[edit] Other uses
Blocks of ballistic gelatin simulate muscle tissue as a standardized medium for testing firearms ammunition.
Gelatin is used by synchronized swimmers to hold their hair in place during their routines as it will not dissolve in the cold water of the pool. It is frequently referred to as “knoxing,” a reference to Knox brand gelatin.[3]
When added to boiling water and cooled, unflavored gelatin can make a home-made hair styling gel that is cheaper than many commercial hair styling products, but by comparison has a shorter shelf life (about a week) when stored in this form (usually in a refrigerator). After being applied to scalp hair, it can be removed with rinsing and some shampoo.
It is commonly used as a biological substrate to culture adherent cells.
Also used by those who are sensitive to tannins (which can irritate the stomach) in teas, soups or brews.
It may be used as a medium with which to consume LSD. LSD in gelatin form is known as “windowpane” or “geltabs.”
Gelatin is used to make the shells of paintballs, similar to the way pharmaceutical capsules are produced.
Gelatin is also used as an ingredient in implantable medical devices, such as in some bone void fillers. Doctors should discuss this with their patients in cases where religious beliefs might be important.[citation needed]
Gelatin is also used in makeup applications. The gelatin is often tinted in different colors to match the models natural skin tone.

No Lol he’s just messing with you

0

not completely. but there’s an ingredient that uses some of it for whatever. go here —–>
http://wiki.answers.com/Q/Do_marshmallows_contain_…

Leave a Comment